وليام فرانسيس كيسي

وليام فرانسيس كيسي البكالوريوس في الطب,BCH,اخصائي التخدير قسم التخدير وطب الالم,ماجستير في علم الأحياء

طبيب معالج أول سنوات الخبرة: 40
  • تخدير الأطفال
  • لمحة عن وليام فرانسيس

    طبيب معالج أول

    تلقى وليام تعليمه في Presentation Brothers، كورك قبل دراسة الطب في جامعة كورك، حيث حصل على شهادته عام 1980. غالباً ما اختار ويليام الطريق الصعب، لذا اختار كلية الطب وحصل على إجازة في السنة ما قبل النهائية. خلال هذا الوقت سافر على نطاق واسع في أوروبا وجنوب إفريقيا والهند وأستراليا، وقام بعدد من الاتصالات بالكليات الطبية في جنوب إفريقيا وسنغافورة وسيدني.

    التحق بالتدريب على التخدير عام 1981 في ليمريك قبل انضمامه إلى خطة التدريب الإقليمي الشرقي في دبلن وحصل على زمالة كلية التخدير RCSI في عام 1984. وأكمل تدريبه في SPR في يونيو 1986، وقبل ذلك قضى دورتين مدة الواحدة ستة أشهر في مستشفى كروملين للأطفال، حيث تعزز حبه للتخدير عند الأطفال والعناية المركزة.

    عند الانتهاء من تدريبه في ايرلندا، أمضى ويليام عاماً مثمراً للغاية كزميل في الأبحاث السريرية في مستشفى رويال فيكتوريا، مونتريال، كندا، وخلال ذلك الوقت، نشر أبحاثاً حول أمراض القلب والجراحة العامة والتخدير عند الولادة. ثم انتقل إلى منصب الزمالة في التخدير في قسم التخدير والعناية المركزة، المركز الطبي الوطني، مستشفى الأطفال، واشنطن العاصمة، وبالتالي استأنف اهتمامه بطب الأطفال. بعد سنة من الزمالة،عُرض على ويليام منصب طبيب معالج في المركز الطبي الوطني، حيث مكث لمدة 15 شهراً.

    في عام 1989، عاد ويليام إلى كروملين كمستشار في التخدير والعناية المركزة، حيث بقي على مدار الـ 26 عاماً الماضية. يقول كونفوشيوس اختر عملاً تحبه ولن تضطر إلى العمل يوماً في حياتك. ينطبق هذا القول تماماً على ويليام وحبه للتخدير عند الأطفال والعناية المركزة. على هذا الأساس، لم يعمل ويليام يوماً في حياته في كروملين. لديه طريقة فريدة من نوعها بالتعامل مع الأطفال من جميع الأعمار الذين يبحثون عن عن“sleepy Billy”ليعطيهم المخدر .

    وهو زميل رائع في العمل، ومعلم موهوب ومدرّب للمتدربين لدينا. خلال فترة وجوده في كروملين، قام بتطوير برنامج الزمالة البحثية وتأليف 25 منشوراً تمت مراجعته من قبل النظراء. وقد عمل أيضاً في المستشفى التنفيذي لفترة من الزمن، وكان رئيساً لقسمنا وعضواً في مجلس إدارة مستشفى أطفالنا على مدار الأعوام الماضية.

    بعد تقاعده من مستشفى الأطفال والسيدات، تم تعيينه في عام 2015 كأستاذ مشارك في كلية الطب بجامعة البحرين الملكية البريطانية ورئيس قسم العناية المركزة في مستشفى جامعة الملك حمد.

    في عام 2017، شغل منصب كبير أطباء الأطفال المعالجين في مجال تخدير الأطفال في سدرة للطب.

    اللغات المحكي

    الإنجليزية

    سنوات الخبرة
    40

    الاهتمامات الطبية

    الرعاية الحرجة للأطفال

William Francis  Casey MB ,FFARCSI,BCH,BAO,FJFICMI

William Francis CaseyMB ,FFARCSI,BCH,BAO,FJFICMI

  • Pediatric Anesthesia
  • About William Francis

    Senior Attending Physician

    William was educated at Presentation Brothers, Cork before studying medicine at University College Cork, qualifying in 1980. Always one to follow the road less travelled, William, took his own journey through medical school and had a year’s sabbatical before final med. During this time he travelled widely in Europe, Israel, South Africa, India and Australia, and did a number of attachments in medical colleges in South Africa, Singapore and Sydney.

    He entered anaesthesia training in 1981 in Limerick before joining the Eastern Regional Training Scheme in Dublin and obtained the Fellowship of the Faculty of Anaesthetists RCSI in 1984. He completed his SpR training in June 1986, prior to which he had spent 2 six-month rotations to Crumlin Children’s hospital, where his love of paediatric anaesthesia and intensive care was fostered.

    Upon completion of his Irish training, William spent a highly successful year as Clinical & Research Fellow at the Royal Victoria Hospital, Montreal, Canada, during which time, he published papers on cardiac, general surgery and obstetric anaesthesia. He then moved to a fellowship position in Anaesthesiology at the Department of Anaesthesia & Critical Care Medicine, National Medical Centre, children’s hospital, Washington DC, thus resuming his interest in paediatric medicine. After a year’s fellowship William was offered and accepted an attending position, at the National Medical Centre, where he stayed for 15 months.

    In 1989, William returned to Crumlin as a consultant in anaesthesia and intensive care, where he has remained for the last 26 years. Confucius is attributed with saying “choose a job you love and you will never have to work a day in your life”. Never has a quote been more aptly applied than to William and his love of paediatric anaesthesia and intensive care. On that basis, William has never had to work a day in his life, in Crumlin. William has a unique way with children of all ages who frequently, when returning to theatre, look for “sleepy Billy” to give them their anaesthetic.

    He is also a superb colleague to work with, and a gifted mentor and trainer to our trainees. During his time in Crumlin, he has developed a research fellowship programme and authored 25 peer-reviewed publications. He has also served on the Hospital Executive for a period, been chairman of our Department and has been a member of the Board of Management of Our Lady’s Children’s hospital for the last number of years.

    After retiring from Our Ladies Children’s Hospital he was appointed in 2015 as associate professor in RCSI Bahrain Medical school and Head of intensive care in King Hamad University hospital.

    In 2017 he took up a position as senior attending in Paediatric Anaesthesia in Sidra Medicine.
    Languages Spoken

    English

    Areas Of Interest

    Pediatric Critical Care